The 7 Wonders of the Ancient World


Designed, engineered, and you plan created by the hand of man, the seven wonders of the ancient world are the pure representation of architecture and engineering to be submitted since the beginning of human civilizations. Also called the seven wonders, is a set of architectural monuments dating especially from the Hellenistic period, the Greeks believed that all worship should visit these different buildings, because they were worthy of supreme examples of creation and human ingenuity.

Currently seven monuments symbolizing the Hellenes, is just standing, it is the great pyramid, despite being besieged in different situations and climate change, including the wear on the field where it is positioned, still good appearance and stable structure, or enough to be admired after more than a century have been built. Monuments with five being directed to Hellenistic thought, considering that these “seven wonders” dating from the third century. C.

According to the research that has been conducted, it has been understood that the origin of the list comes from a short poem by Antipater of Sidon to (125 a.) Or Antipater of Thessalonica (20 a. C. and 20 d . C.) which speaks and explains about the “seven wonders of the world”, a succession of stories which make these wonders mentioned in the main characters, highlighting poetic and artistic way the characteristics of these different monuments created by the hand of man. It is worth to note that at no time does regency or some natural wonder or ruin mentioned only spoken of architectural creations that man of that time admired. The only monuments that were mentioned are:

The Great Pyramid of Giza

Currently it is the only monument of the Seven Wonders found on foot, though it is one of the oldest in the list. It is a pyramid designed and built by architect Hemiuno for Pharaoh Khufu, located at Giza, which currently is Egypt. 2,300,000 blocks were used for the internal construction of the structure was covered by 27,000, the format that was selected was the pyramid-shaped, as its name so mentioned. This pyramid forms the group of 3 pyramids of Giza and stands out as the largest of the three.


The Hanging Gardens of Babylon

It is a complex of buildings that were built in Babylon, now the country of Iraq. Formerly these gardens were built next to the imperial palace of the king, his majesty could be adored by any soul should transit the place, mostly of people from high society or travelers and foreigners, as there was was permitted by entry of any farmer or person in town. It is worth to note that the gardens were built for King Nebuchadnezzar II. These were located on the banks of a city, by the river Euphrates. Later, in the year 126 B.C. the gardens were neglected by Babylon suffered depression finally gardens were destroyed by King Euhemerus in 125 BC


The Temple of Artemis at Ephesus

It was a temple that was built to the goddess Artemis in Greek civilization, known as Diana in Roman, the temple ruins remain located in Ephesus, Turkey currently. Its construction was ordered and directed by King Croesus of Lydia and this ended 120 years later. Antipater of Sidon, the creator of that list of the seven wonders, reports and describes the temple of Artemis known as one of the wonders created by man, most beautiful and large. The temple was made up of groups of several buildings, which the researchers named with letters of the alphabet. The temple of Artemis is credited with the letter “D”. The Temple of Artemis was destroyed by fire in the year 356. C.


The Statue of Zeus at Olympia

Zeus Statue
It was a crisoelefantina sculpture, its construction was led by the classical sculptor Phidias about 436 a. C and is located in what is now known as Olympia, Greece. This sculpture was designed and created in honor of Zeus, one of the Gods highs Greek mythology and to recognize the magnificence that is credited to this being, he did carve a representation in Ivory, making the structure of the details with gold massif. The statue occupied the whole width of the aisle of the temple built to house it.


The Mausoleum of Halicarnassus

The monument was based on the construction of a tomb located in Halicarnassus, Turkey currently between 353 and 350 a. C. led to Mausolus, satrap in the Persian Empire. The average tomb originally 45 meters high, and each of the four plants was adorned with sculptural reliefs created by each one of the Greek sculptors.


The Colossus of Rhodes

It was a large-scale representation of the Greek god Helios. The statue was made in 292. C. and destroyed by an earthquake in 226. C. The construction was led by sculptor Cares of Lindos on the island of Rhodes (Greece). The statue was made ​​of bronze plates over an iron frame and represented the Greek sun god, Helios. According to Pliny the Elder, was about 32 m, with a marble base.


The Lighthouse of Alexandria

It was a tower built on the island of Faro in Alexandria, Egypt in the third century. C., exactly between the years 285 and 247. C. With an estimated 115 to 150 meters high, the monument was held in order to use it as a beacon to serve as a point of reference for the location of the port to the ships. It was flattened by an earthquake in the early fourteenth century.

Leave a Reply