The 7 Wonders of the World

Which person today has not heard mention the 7 wonders of modern world? In my view, if any, are small. The seven wonders of the modern world are treated in a selection of the seven most important architectural monuments of the planet, that have endured to the passage of time. It talks about important creations built by human hands since the beginning of time until 2000 and these are still standing.

The monuments were selected through a proposed 2007 contest, this contest was designed by the company New Open World Corporation, as it was the same founder of this corporation which gave the initiative to create a competition of this nature, based on the Seven Wonders of the ancient world.

The seven wonders of the world were elected democratically by international vote, different people from different countries on five continents exist, they had the opportunity to vote for their most preferred 7 options. The winners were announced monuments on July 7, 2007, along with a big celebration at the Estádio da Luz in Lisbon, Portugal, which was attended by various figures and characters of great magnitude internationally.

The winners were:

Chichén Itzá in the city of Yucatán (Mexico)

It is one of the most important archaeological sites in Mexico, located in the town of Tinum in the state of Yucatan. The area becomes really interesting for archaeologists to discover that it was a city or a ceremonial center of old towns and ancient civilizations like the Maya.


The Roman Colosseum in Rome (Italy)

It is an architectural monument located in Rome, capital of Italy and is a building dating from the first century, built by the Roman Empire. The concept was used to design the structure was the amphitheater, a common format for the construction of buildings for entertainment shows for the Roman people, including events, concerts and even fights between gladiators.


 Christ the Redeemer in Rio de Janeiro (Brazil)

It is a religious monument was inaugurated on October 12, 1931, after taking nearly 5 years to build. The monument is located in the city of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, specifically at the top of Corcovado Mountain, located 709 meters above sea level.


The Great Wall of China (China)

It is a fortress or wall that was built to protect the northern limits of Imperial China. The ancient fortification was built the V century. C. and the sixteenth century, covering a distance of 20,000 km, although currently only 30% of the monument is preserved.


Machu Picchu in Cuzco (Peru)

Machu Picchu is considered a masterpiece and a clear example of Inca architecture and engineering, the ancient civilization that populated the region of the Central Andes in southern Peru. This stone fortress or citadel was built in the mid-fifteenth century.


Petra (Jordan)

It is an archaeological site in Jordan built, capital of the ancient Nabatean kingdom. It is a city carved and sculpted in stone. Founded in ancient times by the end of the seventh century. C. by the Edomites.


Taj Mahal in the city of Agra (India)

It is a group of buildings that made ​​build by Muslim emperor Shah Jahan of Mughal dynasty, in the city of Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India, on the banks of Yamuna, between 1631 and 1654.

Not knowing these different international monuments would be wrong, therefore there are many people attending every year to the various sites where popular architectural projects are located.

Leave a Reply